Posted by: malunkeydamoviemonger | March 24, 2010

Top 11: Billboard Chart Toppers

American Idol Top 11 Perform

“Tonight, for me, was not a good night.” Those were Simon Cowell’s final words for last nights Top 11 American Idol episode and I have to say that I agree with him. Honestly, there are a few contestants (based on tonight’s performances) that would never have been in any other top 11 for any other season. Last night’s Idol was… Well…. It was very typical for this season: Not that exciting.

 

Aaron Kelly sang Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing,” and in my opinion, he was great. Ellen threw a lot of jokes around, saying he was good for being a third grader. Even Ryan got in on the act by calling him David Archuletta, but seriously, he’s a great singer with a great voice and really deserves to be in this competition!

 Crystal Bowersox

Next gracing the stage was fan favorite, Crystal Bowersox. Crystal came out on her plush “magic” carpet, holding her guitar (surprise) and sang Janis Joplin version of “Bobby McGee.” Again, no surprises here. And the magic carpet worked for her. I really like her, but everything she does is predictable. Even hearing her spin on a Miley song would have been so surprising and I would have loved it! Apparently, she’s going to surprise us next week. This better be the surprise I’m waiting for and I can’t wait!

Casey James seems to get better and better each week as a vocalist. There’s no question that he’s an amazing musician. Randy definitely got it right when he said that Casey was the best musician they’ve ever had on Idol! At least we agree on that, Randy. Casey’s rendition of Huey Lewis & The News’ “Power of Love” was perfect for him (and me). My one and only critique for Casey is … loosen up, man! He’s too stiff on stage. I’d also love to see his face do something more than smile — it’s tending to look a bit cheesy.

Oh, speaking of cheesy that leads me to my least favorite moments of last nights show — Tim Urban. OK, I’ll admit Tim is certainly teeny-bopper eye candy this season and I’m not going to lie – he’s a cutie -, but I just don’t understand what he’s thinking. He seems truly confused about what artist he’s trying to be. Ellen called it a High School Musical audition.

I’m also losing my initial excitement about Andrew Garcia. His choice of “I Heard It Through The Grapevine,” was way too old-fashioned; I totally agree with Simon and Kara on that point. He really did peak in Hollywood week and he should be very happy that his rendition of “Straight Up” by Paula Abdul has kept him here this long, and possibly to the tour as well. But unless he figures something out, I don’t expect him to stay much longer.

Paige Miles sang “Against All Odds” by Phil Collins and according to Randy it was terrible, pitchy and she stopped competing and therefore had the worst vocals of the season so far. Well at least she did not fall with those high heel shoes.

Lee Dewyze sang “The Letter” by The Boxtops. The performance was not great, but I still like him and hope he stays around a bit longer. The judges loved it minus Simon who thought it was corny and had no real good moments. Ellen’s favorite pen story was simply hilarious.

Michael Lynche “Big Mike” sang “When a Man Loves a Woman” Even thought the panel liked what he did, they also pointed out that it was time that he got out of his comfort zone.

Didi Benami sang “You’re No Good” by Linda Ronstadt :
In short, it was a very confusing performance.

Last but not least was Siobhan Magnus who sang “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder and overall it was seen as a decent performance, even if there really is not way to avoid a certain amount of corniness when performing this song.

What are your thoughts on the episode? Tune in tonight to find out who receives enough votes to stay in the competition and who is sent home.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

